Chair's Update

Message from the Chair – 8 March 2018

Welcome to the Q1 2018 update from the Aviation and Aerospace Group Committee.

Firstly, I would like to use this opportunity to thank Ross Coppollo for his dedication and support over his tenure. The group expanded and became more focused during his time and hosted a number of good site visits that had other groups very envious. I am pleased that Martin Brennan and I have been able to take over leadership of this group and we hope to continue to build on these offerings. I am really looking forward to working hard on your behalf to support your professional development during my time as Chair. If there is anything you wish to discuss or items you believe should be on the agenda please do not hesitate to contact me.

We held our first event in Chiswick on 6th March which has been very well received. You will find presentations and supporting information uploaded onto the website shortly. I will continue to add to this as the remaining elements are received. Unfortunately, we are also unable to post anything on the microsite for a month or so as IOSH updates the platform. However, we will ensure we continue to update this as soon as it becomes available again.

I am pleased to see that a number of you responded to our recent survey. This was distributed to identify the needs of our group and to enable me to align the strategy to meet these needs. The annual conference has been scheduled around incident and accident investigation; the subject most requested by yourselves in this survey and we will continue to focus our efforts in this way. We have decided to host the event during validation week of the Farnborough airshow and have a fantastic selection of speakers from the AAIB, Blakes Emergency Services and Norwegian to name just a few. Hopefully this will facilitate a day to enjoy both the preparation of airshow demonstrations and enhance your skills and knowledge in aircraft incident/ accident investigation.

Further information will be published shortly however I encourage you to hold 10th July in your diary. We will also be focusing on webinars to increase the reach to our International audience and those unable to make the site visits and providing case studies where availability allows.

Finally, during our transition period we are continuing to build a strong committee to ensure we can deliver the information you have requested. We currently have a couple of places available to fill – if you are interested and would like to role your sleeves up and get involved please contact Julie Littlejohns before 16th March 2018.

Wishing you all the best with your Health and Safety efforts over coming months and I hope to meet you all in person in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hannah Smith
BSc (Hons), LPD, NEBOSH Dip, SIIRSM, CMIOSH, MCMI, M_o_R, MSP and PCM Practitioner
Chair, Aviation and Aerospace Group

Julie Littlejohns, Relationship Manager

Need help or want to know more?