IOSH Yorkshire Branch

Yorkshire benefits from an innovative branch of the Institution and has its roots in the North Eastern Division of the Institution of Industrial Safety Officers.

Albert Kendell, a recipient of the President’s Distinguished Service Award, recalls a past boss (John Hayward) being a founder member of that organisation back in 1951, when meetings used to be held at the Yorkshire Parkside Safety Centre at Hunslet, Leeds, and attracted 20 to 25 people.

The change to IOSH saw the meetings move from the wooden hut at Hunslet to the Selby Fork Motel, then Kellingley Miners' Welfare at Knottingley before moving to the Parkside Hotel at Pontefract. In 1999, the branch split because of its size (over 2,400 members), and the Humberside Branch was formed.

Our current membership (again approaching 2,400) enjoys the setting of Rogerthorpe Manor for our events, which has served us well since April 2002.

We believe that the first female chair of an IOSH branch was our own Pat Harvey, back in the 1980s. She was followed in later years by Jean Illingworth and then Nina Wrightson, who went on to become President of IOSH and receive the President’s Distinguished Service Award.

Other branch members who have received the President’s Distinguished Service Award include: Kenneth Saxton MIOSH (February 1990), Ronald Jackson FIOSH (November 1993), Doug Cartwright FIOSH (April 2005) and Chris Richold MIOSH (April 2005). John Lacey has joined Nina as one of those able to claim the honour of President and has since joined the Board of Trustees.

Contact us

Need help or want to know more?