2014 May AGM Awards

During the Branch AGM on May 9th, three of our Branch Committee members were given Presidents Distinguished Service Awards by Jan Chmiel, IOSH CEO and Ian Harper, IOSH President Elect. These awards are given to volunteers who have provided an exceptional level of service to IOSH and Branch Members. 

In addition Branch Committee Secretary Jane Blunt was honoured with a Presidents Silver Award. This prestigious award is in addition to the Presidents Distinguished Service Award that Jane received four years ago.

Jane Blunt
Presidents Silver Award

Jane has been serving the Branch Committee since the 1990’s in various roles and is currently acting as Branch Secretary. Jane works exceptionally hard for the service of the Branch and its members and there was unanimous agreement that the award was very well deserved.

Andy Bagworth
Presidents Distinguished Service Award

Andy has been serving the Branch Committee for 11 years and has just begun his fourth year as Branch Chair. Andy has also served in other Branch roles including Vice Chair and BEDA. Andy was particularly noted as being a very motivational leader for the Branch, directing the Committee in several positive ways.

Barbara Back
Presidents Distinguished Service Award

Barbara has served the Committee for the past seven years and has now sadly stepped down from her role. Barbara played a very active role in the Committee including acting as Secretary for five years. Barbara is a well-known figure amongst the Branch Membership and her contribution to the Committee will be very much missed.

Denis Hands
Presidents Distinguished Service Award

Denis has served the Committee for the past 11 years and has also now sadly stepped down from his role. In addition to being a very active Committee member, Denis has also contributed to the Communications Member Advisory Panel. Denis’s contributions to event organisation and mentoring will be very much missed.

            Back row, L to R – Ian Harper and Jan Chmiel
 Front Row, L to R – Jane Blunt, Denis Hands, Barbara Back and Andy Bagwort

André Castle achieves ‘Highly Commended’ in his entry for the Rob Strange Award

André Castle organised a bike ride in aid of charity after a Branch meeting in 2012. This resulted in a donation of £100 to East Anglian Air Ambulance.

He entered this for the Rob Strange award and, at IOSH Networks Conference, it was announced that it had won a ‘Highly Commended’ award for his entry.

The two pictures show Andy Bagworth, Malcolm Fryer and Teresa Harrold collecting the award on his behalf from Rob Strange and Tim Briggs at the Networks Conference, and André collecting his award at the Branch meeting in November.

Rob Strange award

Rob Strange award

Contact us

Need help or want to know more?