Our leaders

Graham Parker CFIOSH, IOSH President

Graham ParkerGraham Parker is a Chartered Fellow of IOSH and IIRSM Professional Member of ASSE and a Certified Member of BIFM, the professional body for facilities management. During a 21-year career in health and safety, he has specialised in logistics, aviation, real estate, facilities management, and general health and safety management.  

Graham has worked for Boots the Chemist, Yell, Aviation Defence International before joining Mapeley Estates Ltd, where he is Head of Health and Safety for one of the UK’s largest commercial property companies.

As an active member, he was part of the branch executive of the South Coast Branch before moving to the Thames Valley Branch, where he is the current Chair, and has served as Vice Chair.  In 2011, Graham was elected to Council of IOSH, previously being involved with the Networks Conference Members Advisory Panel, and chaired the judging panel of the ‘IOSH National Film and Television School Award’. Graham has represented IOSH on the ROSPA Sir George Earle Awards Panel and was appointed IOSH representative for the Safety Groups UK Management Committee. He was elected Vice President of IOSH in 2013 before becoming President Elect of the Institution in November 2015.

Craig Foyle CFIOSH, IOSH President Elect

Craig FoyleCraig is a Chartered Fellow of IOSH (CFIOSH); a Fellow of the IIRSM (FIIRSM); a Certified Member of the APS (CMaPS) and a Practitioner of IEMA (PIEMA). Craig has been a member of IOSH Council since 2011, is recent Chair and currently the Vice-Chair of the IOSH Consultancy Group and is on the Executive Committee for the IOSH Humber Branch. He is also a panel chair for chartered fellowship peer review interviews. Craig is a director of Foyle Safety & Management Limited, providing project safety management, training and interim SHE management consultancy support. Craig also lectures on health and safety management at the University of Hull.

Dr Karen McDonnell CFIOSH, IOSH Immediate Past President

Dr Karen McDonnellDr Karen McDonnell CFIOSH became President of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health in November 2015.

Active as an IOSH member in Scotland as part of the Edinburgh Branch Executive Committee, Karen is also Head of RoSPA Scotland and occupational health and safety policy adviser for the association.

A member since 1989, she is a Chartered Fellow of the Institution and the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD). She has completed a Masters in safety promotion from Karolinska Institutet in Sweden and represented the Professional Organisations in Occupational Safety and Health (POOSH) Scotland on the Partnership on Health and Safety in Scotland.

Speaking before her election to the Presidential team in 2014, she said: “I take pride in the fact that I have recognised opportunities to take forward the health and safety message in my personal and professional life, and am deeply committed to my work in occupational safety, health and the environment, both as a career and for its value as a contribution to society.“

Vice Presidents: Vincent Ho CFIOSH, Declan Gibney CMIOSH, Andrew Sharman CFIOSH, Michelle Muxworthy CFIOSH and Bridget Gilmour CFIOSH

Dr Bill Gunnyeon CBE, IOSH Chair of Board of Trustees

Dr Bill GunnyeonDr Bill Gunnyeon CBE was appointed Chief Medical Adviser, Director for Health and Wellbeing and Chief Scientist at the UK’s Department for Work and Pensions in 2005, leading the health and work agenda within government for nearly a decade.

During his time at DWP he developed a deep understanding of health and safety regulation from six years as director level sponsor of the Health and Safety Executive, overseeing the Government response to the Löfstedt review of health and safety legislation and playing a key role in the development of the Office for Nuclear Regulation.

Dr Gunnyeon was confirmed as IOSH Chair of Board of Trustees at a meeting of the chartered body’s governing council in February 2016.

In the role, he will be instrumental in shaping the future of the safety and health profession, working with IOSH members to deliver a new strategy for the leading professional body.

Bev Messinger, IOSH Chief Executive

Bev Messinger is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development and has a wealth of experience in people development and HR. Throughout her career she has shown considerable financial and management experience and corporate leadership and governance in complex stakeholder environments.

Bev became IOSH Chief Executive in October 2016, with her top priority being working with IOSH Trustees and senior members on delivering the organisation’s new 2017-22 strategy. She was previously Senior Director – Business Improvement at water regulator Ofwat. Prior to that, she worked at Coventry City Council, as Corporate Director of Customer and Workforce Services and Head of Human Resources before becoming Acting CEO.

She has a strong interest in the voluntary sector, being a Trustee of Keyring, a national charity for adults with learning disabilities. She is also a Non-Executive Director of Northamptonshire Healthcare Foundation Trust.

WORK 2022